International Conference on Logic, Rationality and Interaction


Modern logic is a discipline interfacing between mathematics, philosophy, computer science, linguistics, and the cognitive, economical, and social sciences. An active central focus today is the study of rational agency and intelligent interaction, with topics such as information, knowledge, communication, and strategic goal-directed behavior of social agents. Here logic meets theories of agency in computer science, but also in epistemology, game theory and social choice theory, leading to new developments such as 'social software', but also to new issues and results in philosophy and computer science.

The LORI conference wants to strengthen this interface and help build an East-Asian research community around it. Concrete themes in its program have been epistemic logic and social agency, logic and games, computational social choice, computational logic, logic and epistemology, logic and natural language, and argumentation theory, but with each instalment of the conference, new relevant themes will be explored.

Past and Future Conferences

LORI-I, 5-9 August 2007, Beijing Normal University, Beijing, China.

LORI-II, 8-11 October 2009, South-West University, Chongqing, China.

LORI-III, 10-13 October 2011, Sun Yet-sen University, Guangzhou, China.

LORI-IV, 9-12 October 2013, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China.

LORI-V, 28-31 October 2015, National Taiwan University and National Yang Ming University, Taipei.

LORI-VI,11-14 September 2017, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan

LORI-VII, 18-21 October 2019, South-West University, Chongqing, China

LORI-VIII (Hybrid), 16-19 October 2021, Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'an, China

LORI-IX, 26-29 October 2023, Shandong University, Jinan, China

LORI-X, 16-19 October 2025, Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'an, China
PC chairs: Valentin Goranko and Chenwei Shi
Local chair: Wei Wang











General Organization

Standing Committee: Johan van Benthem (Chair, University of Amsterdam and Stanford University), Shier Ju (Sun Yat-sen University), Frank Veltman (University of Amsterdam), Jialong Zhang (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences), Xiangdong He (South West University), Huaxin Huang (Zhejiang University), Wen-fang Wang (Yang Ming University), Tomoyuki Yamada (Hokkaido University).

Scientific Secretaries: Fenrong Liu (Tsinghua University), Minghui Xiong (Zhejiang University).

last modified on jun-2024 (Fenrong)